Stevie Ray Vaughan Discussion :: View topic - being original

Stevie Ray Vaughan Discussion Forum Index

Stevie Ray Vaughan Discussion
The SRV Discussion Forum - why didn't we do this before?

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 

being original
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Stevie Ray Vaughan Discussion Forum Index -> Stevie Ray Vaughan Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bluz_playa85

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: being original Reply with quote

Stevie was a huge influence on me. He's the reason i started playing guitar. Granted, i realized eventually that it was time to improve on what i learned from him. There are alot of great players (my personal favorite is Chris Duarte who i know really well) who take that style and expand upon it. Its important to grow. Rather than learning Stevie's songs note for note, go out and get a metronome and learn good time and phrasing.

Just to show im not blowing hot air, check out my website at www.vinceesquire.com i've played with some heavy cats who have all told me the same thing... "find your own voice". Los Lonely Boys, Coco Montoya, Willie Nelson, Little Feat...all these guys.

Stevie's style and tone was great, but it's like dipping your little toe into a sea of knowlage...there's so much more out there. Coltrane, Stevie Wonder, Miles Davis, Bach, Beethoven, Paganini....its endless.
Vaughanabe13

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So basically you have come to this forum to be a "know-it-all" and advise us on what we should "really" do with our guitar playing? Sounds pretty damn pompous to me. Who said all we do is try to copy SRV and play exactly like him?