Scott Henderson Discussion :: View topic - Another amp question
Scott Henderson Discussion Forum Index

Scott Henderson Discussion
The Official Scott Henderson Discussion Forum

www.scotthenderson.net

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
  Chat Users Currently Chatting   

Another amp question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Scott Henderson Discussion Forum Index -> Scott Henderson Direct
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Preserved Moose

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:03 pm    Post subject: Another amp question Reply with quote

Hey Scott,

thanks for answering questions on this forum. I've been surfing here for 4 years or something and always found your advice very helpful.

I'm thinking about buying a real amp. Until now I have been playing over small transistor boxes (which is kind of embarrassing). It should be a tube amp with a 2x12 cabinet. I have been thinking about the Fender Hot Rod Deville, especially because Fender just released a Michael Landau signature version of it. But I have come to the conclusion that I enjoy Marshall style amps a bit more. Fenders are too clean… But the (somehow) inevitable 4x12 cabinet seems a bit too much for my purposes and for some reason no one cares about Marshall combos (are they that bad?)…
Wayne Krantz uses a Marshall 2553 Silver Jubilee with a 2x12 cabinet and I like his tone:

http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/22218-rig-rundown-wayne-krantz

What do you think about using 2x12 cabinets with Marshall heads? I understand the heads have to be made for 2x12's. Are there any alternatives or certain models that could work for me?

I'm really looking forward to hear your new album und see you live in april! Thank you for your music! It's very important to me.

Cheers,
Matthias Smile
Scott Henderson
The Man